Mildura Hosts Epic NDRC Sportsman Show

Ten brackets impressed across the two days of the Victorian event, hosted by the Sunraysia Drag Racing Association.

In Super Gas, reigning champion Rob Bergamin was ecstatic with his victory over runner-up Jason Wilson, aboard his VF Valiant. Des Woolstencroft had earlier taken the top qualifier honours.

“I am absolutely over the moon. I was really happy too to run Jason Wilson in the final, it was a tough run, but we pulled through,” Bergamin said.

In Super Street, Tony Antonino took the win over Paul Jennings in his Valiant S Series, while Rohan Hutson was the top qualifier.

“I am pumped; absolutely wrapped. This is what we come here to do. The meeting was run flawlessly, from qualifying yesterday to pushing through rounds today, it was just enjoyable all weekend,” Antonino said.

In Super Sedan, Corey Pocock and his EH Panel Van took the win over Chris Lioulios following a busy day of racing. Tony Miskelly was the top qualifier.

“It has been a terrible few months for me with deaths and accidents and so on, so it was just a relief to be honest, and it is also my first Christmas Tree, so I am really happy. It was just a great weekend with mates, and while every race came down to a few thousandths, the car was perfect, and the crew was perfect, and that makes it easier,” Pocock said.

In Competition Bike, reigning champion, Joe Khoury, took the win over Rob Church in his Harley VRod Destroyer following a three-round Chicago Shootout. The Top Qualifier was Locky Ireland.

“To get the win was a good follow up from winning the championship last season and pretty much stamps my authority on Competition Bike in my class I think,” Khoury said.

In Summit Racing Equipment Junior Dragster, Cooper Plummer took the win over Decoglaze Glass Splashbacks Top Qualifier, Nathaniel Kuchel.

Modified Bike saw Lucas Neagoe take the win over Derryn McGregor in his Suzuki GSXR 1000, while Sean Ricketts was the top qualifier.

In Modified, champion Simon Barlow had his hands full at the presentations, claiming not only the Christmas Tree trophy after his win over Kenny Stewart but also the Top Qualifier Medallion.

In Top Sportsman, Vlado Turic took the win over Stuart McBain in his GTO Pontiac, while Darren Saliba was the top qualifier.

In Supercharged Outlaws, Dale Tucker and Mark Hunt faced off for the ANDRA Christmas Tree, with Hunt sadly unable to move off the start line when the time came. Lucas Woodburn was the top qualifier.

In Super Comp, it all came down to Top Qualifier Steve Norman and Craig Geddes, with Norman ultimately taking out the win in his BMW M3. Norman also laid down two new national records on his way to the victory, resetting the B/MPA ET and MPH records to 5.279 (previously 5.510) and 128.77mph (previously 120.0mph) respectively.

The NDRC Western Conference points chase now heads to Dragway at The Bend for the Spring Nationals on October 21 and 22, while the Eastern Conference will fire up at Benaraby Dragway on October 7. For more information, visit

Photos thanks to Automotive Event Images and

Related Posts

Aeroflow Sportsman racers excel at Willowbank Raceway – Part Three

Aeroflow Sportsman racers excel at Willowbank Raceway – Part Two

Aeroflow Sportsman racers excel at Willowbank Raceway – Part One

Celebrations abound at NDRC season-ending Winternationals

Contact us

Stay informed!

Keep up to date with all the latest drag racing news from around the country, direct to your inbox.